terça-feira, julho 21, 2015

Three Syn Discs Are Being Re-Released

Syndestructible, Original Syn and Big Sky Get Revisited 

May 19th, 2015, London, UK – To coincide with the release of  The Syn Live Rosfest, three older Syn albums (Syndestructible, Original Syn and Big Sky) have been re-released. The Syn Live Rosfest is a live CDrecorded in 2009 at Rosfest in Philadelphia on the Syn's Big Sky tour. It also includes a bonus DVD featuring two films "The Syn in the 21st Century" and "The Making of Big Sky." Formed in 1965, The Syn was a precursor of the band Yes, with that band's bassist Chris Squire as one of the founding members. At various times The Syn has also included Yes alums Peter Banks and Alan White in their lineup. All these albums are released on the Umbrello Records label with distribution by Nova/Universal in Europe and Alliance/Universal in America and Japan. 

Syndestructible was originally released in 2005. The lineup on the set was Steve Nardelli, Chris Squire, Gerard Johnson and brothers Paul and Jeremy Stacy. Mark Stephens of Prog Positivity said the album was "one of those rare reunion projects that surpasses the original!" He also said, "From songwriting to arrangements, and vocals and instrumentation, everything on Syndestructible is sublimely understated, creating a uniquely disarming and sensitive brand of art-rock music." At LiveWire Bill Forman said, "Titled Syndestructible, the band's 'comeback' album is a winning combination of post-Invasion Britpop and progressive rock tendencies." Writing for 20th Century Guitar Magazine, Robert Silverstein called Syndestructible "the best album of the 21st century." 

Another 2005 release, Original Syn is a double disc set. Musicians on the album include Andrew Pryce Jackman and Gerard Johnson (keys),  Steve Nardelli, Chris Slater, Denny Ward, Ayshea Brough (vocals), Martyn Adelman, Gunnar Hákonarson and John Bowring (drums), Peter Banks, James Nisbet, John Wheatley and John Painter (guitar) and Chris Squire and Steve Gee (bass). The first disc is made up quite literally of Original Syn music from the 1960s. The second CD included new music from the reformed Syn. Reviewer Henry Potts said, "Original Syn is well worth getting. There is some classic '60s music, there is some great new music, there are some historical oddities and it is all put together behind a great cover." 

Big Sky originally saw a 2009 release. The album features a core lineup of cofounder/band leader Steve Nardelli, Francis Dunnery (ex-It Bites) and Tom Brislin (currently touring with Renaissance). Robert Silverstein of 20th Century Guitarsaid, "Big Sky offers a unique, 21st century mod-prog rock recording that's just as inclined to draw on electronica, acoustica, World Beat, jazz and lyrical, Dylan-esque folk. With ten tracks clocking in at 54 minutes, on Big Sky many musical treasures can be discovered on a big musical canvas."
Progressive Rock & Progressive Metal - E-ZINE