quarta-feira, abril 05, 2017

Weserbergland "Sehr Kosmisch" "Ganz Progisch"

"Sehr Kosmisch" "Ganz Progisch" by Weserbergland (Oslo, Norway) is an homage to the seventies krautrock scene seen through the eyes of Ketil Vestrum Einarsen. Ketil is a veteran flutist of the Norwegian Progrock scene, having been a part of White Willow for almost 20 years. He has also been a member of Jaga Jazzist and played on more than fifty albums, with bands like Motorpsycho and Geir Lysnes Listening Ensemble. As a composer, he has written music for 10 documentaries and one TV series (all of this together with Lars Fredrik Frøislie (Wobbler, White Willow etc))

"Sehr Kosmisch" "Ganz Progisch" is Ketils debut as a band leader. He has been a kraut rock enthusiast since he discovered the music through the record collection of his friend´s hippie father in the early 90s, so to take this musical turn was a very natural thing him. And it´s quite easy to hear the inspiration of bands like Tangerine Dream, Can, Cluster, Harmonia et cetera. But it´s not a retro sounding album, the sound is also influenced by Ketils former band, Jaga Jazzist and similar bands, and of course there´s a huge dose of 70s era progressive rock in there.

The result is a very unique and demanding album. The simplicity of krautrock is juxtaposed or mixed with a complete sensory overload of multitracking, heavy use of effects and compositional techniques from contemporary or classical music.

Ketil plays the flute, clarinet, guitar, keyboards and provides programming. Mattias Olsson of Änglagård fame provides a remimagined approach to the motoric beat thoughout the album, and Gaute Storsve and Jacob Holm-Lupo (White Willow) shares duties on bass and guitar. The album also features guest musicians from Jaga Jazzist, Wobbler, Henry Fool et cetera. The album was mixed and mastered by Jacob Holm-Lupo.

- Fans of both krautrock and instrumental rock
- Fans of Jaga Jazzist and similar bands will like this
- The musicians on the album are very experienced and acclaimed.
- The band plays their very first gig at the Close To Rain Festival in Bergen, 03/06/2017.

Ketil Vestrum Einarsen: Flute, Clarinet, Keyboads, guitars, programming
Gaute Storsve: Bass and guitar
Jacob Holm-Lupo: Bass and guitar
Mattias Olsson: Drums and percussion
Guest musicians: Lars Fredrik Frøislie, Stephen James Bennet, Tetsuroh Konishi, Lars Horntveth, Erik Johannessen, Brynjar Dambo, Roger Langvik, Einar Baldurson
Progressive Rock & Progressive Metal - E-Zine