terça-feira, julho 09, 2013

Daniel Cavanagh (Anathema) and Joseph Geraci - “The Passage”

Daniel Cavanagh and Joseph Geraci - "The Passage"

Graceful and atmospheric, The Passage is the unique result of a collaboration between Anathema's Daniel Cavanagh and writer Joseph Geraci (the voice on Internal Landscapes from Anathema's celebrated 2012 release, Weather Systems).

Mainly comprising ethereal textural and evocative piano backdrops to readings of Geraci's work (by Geraci, Cavanagh and Heather Leah Huddleston), the album also contains two new songs by Cavanagh. Within (Part 2) and Brief are also based on the words of Geraci and in their heartfelt and emotive delivery, the songs act as an ideal coda to the more tender moments on Anathema's recent albums.

Presented as a 17 part continuous suite of textures, poetry and songs, The Passage is a seductive and unpretentious marriage of spoken word and music that highlights the growing sophistication in Daniel Cavanagh's compositional capabilities.

The cd is presented in a dvd-sized digi-book and includes striking Carl Glover (Led Zeppelin, Porcupine Tree etc) images in addition to the poetic texts.

1) Metamorphosis 
2) Alone 
3) The Orbit 
4) Within 
5) Yet To Be 
6) Freedom 
7) The Return 
8) Within Part 2 
9) The Islands 
10) Water Fire 
11) I Am You 
12) Brief 
13) Childhood Lost 
14) Color 
15) By Myself 
16) The Beginning 
17) The Passage

Anathema are currently enjoying mainstream chart and end of year musician's poll success on a global level and The Passage is a timely reminder of the emotional heart at the core of the Post-Progressive legends.

Officially released on the Burning Shed label on September 2nd via Essential Distribution, the album is currently available as an online exclusive via 

Progressive Rock & Progressive Metal - E-Zine