segunda-feira, fevereiro 23, 2015


ANTHROPIA - "Non-Euclidean Spaces"
Founded in 2003 by Hugues LEFEBVRE (vocals, acoustic and electric guitars), Anthropia first records a 5 songs demo before becoming a solo project in 2004. The band's style can be described as power prog' metal, inspired by bands like Symphony X, Megadeth, Pain Of Salvation, Ayreon, Dream Theater, etc. The project ultimately takes shape in 2006 with its first album, out on the reknown american label Magna Carta: "The Ereyn Chronicles, Part 1".

With the help from Damien RAINAUD on the drums, and thanks to a very warm welcome from the press (especially "Album of the month" in the french issue of Rock Hard magazine in December 2006), Hugo teams up with Nathalie OLMI (vocals), Yann MOUHAD (guitars) and Julien NEGRO (bass), in order to perform the album live during a series of live concerts. The band will play notably at the Tomawok Festival in Nice, will open for the british band Magnum at the Trabendo in Paris, and will perform a few showcases in a handfull of FNAC shops in France.

"Lion Snake", live at the Tomawok festival:

In 2009, the band releases its second album: "The Chain Reaction", mixed by François MERLE, guitar player from MANIGANCE, and mastered by Tommy HANSEN (Helloween, Pretty Maids, ...). Kevin CODFERT from ADAGIO is also appearing as a guest.

This album, with higher composition and production standards, is out on ADARCA RECORDS, a record company founded by the band, and garners even more accolades from the press ("Album of the month" again in the french edition of Rock Hard magazine in April 2009).

Recording memories from "The Chain Reaction":

The band finaly records in 2010 an unplugged showcase in order to release its first live album: "Acoustic Reactions". The concert is captured on film and integrally available on Youtube.

For our third recording, we have gathered powerul artifacts, have set up deadly weapons and packed some holy water in order to journey far and deep into the troubled waters of the Pacific Ocean. There, we have found the darkest of inspiration...

"Non-Euclidean Spaces" is indeed an hommage to our favorite author of all times, H.P. Lovecraft, and to his famous Cthulhu Mythos. The album, which title references to the impossible and cyclopean architecture that the writer held so dear, revisits themes featured in the universe of his novels and short stories, developing an original scenario of its own.

We will follow the footsteps of Randolph Carter who, in order to retrieve his dreaming faculties which will allow him to travel through time and space, will have to face Great Old Ones threat while the stars are starting to align. The album is comprised of the following songs, for a total duration of 71 minutes (which is the stantard time needed to summon a Hound of Tindalos... Usually...):

01 - Strange Aeons (00:55)
02 - The Melancholy Of R.C. (07:32)
03 - Silver Twilight Lodge (07:29)
04 - The Part Of Them In Me (09:45)
05 - Unknown Kadath (02:55)
06 - Seeds Of Decay (05:52)
07 - When The Stars Come Right (07:35)
08 - Crawling Chaos (06:22)
09 - The Snake Den (06:35)
10 - Lost In Time And Space (06:02)
11 - Fuoco (04:00)
12 - Credits (05:24)

Two guests of honour have participated in the recording and helped us breath life into the Mythos and the adventures of Randolph Carter - let's just say that their place next to the Great Cthulhu is more than secured now !

- Arjen Anthony LUCASSEN (Ayreon, Star One), is the narrator on the whole album.

- Edu FALASCHI (Almah, ex-Angra), lent his voice on the track "The Snake Den".

12 - Credits (05:24)

Hugues LEFEBVRE - Vocals, acoustic & electric guitars
Nathalie OLMI - Vocals
Yann MOUHAD - Electric & acoustic guitars
Julien NEGRO - Bass
Damien RAINAUD - Drums

Arjen Anthony LUCASSEN (Ayreon, Star One): Narration on all tracks 
Edu FALASCHI (Almah, ex-Angra): Vocals on track 9 
Laurent TARDY: Piano on track 4 
Pascal ALLAIGRE: Guitar solo on track 9

All tracks composed, written and arranged by H. Lefebvre except :
-tr. 5, 6 & 8 composed and arranged by Y. Mouhad, written by Y. Mouhad and H. Lefebvre 
-tr. 3 composed by H. Lefebvre and Heitor Villa-Lobos (© Max Eschig Soc. (un catalogue des Editions DURAND S.A.)), written and arranged by H. Lefebvre 
-tr. 11 composed by Roland Dyens (extrait de Libra Sonatine de Roland Dyens © Editions Henry Lemoine / Auvidis-Naïve), arranged by H. Lefebvre

Mixed and mastered by Damien RAINAUD, Darth Mader Music, Los Angeles. 

Artwork by David DEMARET:

Produced by ANTHROPIA.