segunda-feira, setembro 16, 2013

VICINITY - "Awakening" a Progressive Rock/Metal band and their new album

Following their previous release in 2011 the progressive metal band Vicinity has spent their time writing their first full-length album. Awakening breaks the 54 minute mark and consists of fairly long songs made up of odd-metered time structures, intricate and speedy riffs and lots of melody

"Frode recorded the drum tracks in Trondheim Studio in February," explains guitarist Kim Marius H. Olsen.

"In the following months bass, guitars and vocals were laid down. We're extremely happy about the outcome and we've spent more time in the studio now than ever before and it really paid off."

Awakening marks the debut of the new bass player Pierre-Nicolai H. Schmidt-Melbye, who joined the band after co-founder Kristian Nergård left back in 2009. "It was important to find someone who not only handled the bass with precision but also fit in with the other members both socially and musically, and Pierre meets all the criteria," elaborates Olsen. "We also got Reidulf Wormdal to join us in the studio as a session keyboard player to add a little extra spice to the mix."

The album was mixed by André Alvinzi and mastered by Jens Bogren at Fascination Street Studios (Symphony X, James LaBrie, Katatonia, Opeth, Enslaved). "I think we sound stronger than ever and we couldn't be happier with the mixing and mastering," says Olsen.

1. Mass Delusion (5:21)
2. Opportunities Lost (14:25)
3. Across the River (5:27)
4. Walk All the Way (11:42)
5. The Time for Change (6:10)
6. Awakening (11:26)

Recorded in Trondheim Studio. Mixed by André Alvinzi and mastered by Jens Bogren at Fascination Street Studios.

From left to right: Alex Lykke (vocals), Kim-Marius H. Olsen (guitars), Frode Lillevold (drums), Pierre Nicolai Schmidt-Melbye (bass)

Vicinity is
Alex Lykke - Vocals
Kim-Marius H. Olsen - Guitars
Pierre Nicolai Schmidt-Melbye - Bass
Frode Lillevold - Drums
Keyboards were handled by Reidulf Wormdal

Awakening (2013)
Diffusion of Innovation (2011)
In the Making (demo) (2007)
Progressive Rock & Progressive Metal - E-Zine